Loading

Parent Fee Program

What is the parent fee program?

In the Spring of 2002, the Kansas Legislature directed the Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services (SRS) to establish a Parent Fee Program for parents with minor children who receive services through one of the Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Waiver Programs.

A child’s eligibility for an HCBS Waiver is determined without considering parental resources or income. The Parent Fee Program ensures fairness and shared responsibility by charging a portion of the cost of the services provided to families who have the means to pay.

SRS and a stakeholder group worked together to establish rules for the Parent Fee Program. They wanted to keep it simple and adaptable to family needs. They developed a sliding fee schedule to account for the many circumstances or financial hardships a family with a child with a disability may experience.

The State of Kansas underwent a reorganization on July 1, 2012 where this Program was transferred under the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS).

Who is included in the parent fee program?

Parents of children receiving services through one of the following Home and Community Based (HCBS) Waivers:

Persons caring for a child receiving services through one of the referenced HCBS Waivers who do not have to pay a fee include:

Parents are charged for only one child regardless of the number of children in the home receiving HCBS Wavier services.

What will my fee be?

KDADS will compute the fee from information you provide on an Information Disclosure Form (IDF). Fees are based on the number of exemptions (size of family) and the Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) claimed on the family’s most recent federal income tax return.

The table below provides a rough estimate of your monthly fee.

(AGI) Number of Exemptions (Family Size)
  2 3 4 5+
$20,000 $0 $0 $0 $0
$30,000 $10 $0 $0 $0
$40,000 $20 $10 $0 $0
$50,000 $41 $20 $15 $0
$60,000 $68 $41 $20 $10
$70,000 $102 $58 $33 $20

Adjusted Gross Income (AGI)

The entire Parent Fee Schedule (sliding fee scale) is available on the KDADS Parent Fee Page or by clicking on this link.

KDADS may waive a portion of the fee or the entire fee for a period of time for parents who have a demonstrable hardship or significantly changed circumstance as outlined in the Parent Fee Program Manual. To receive a fee variance, parents must complete a Request for Fee Variance (RFV) form and submit it to Parent Fee Program for consideration.

How will KDADS bill me?

KDADS mails invoices around the 15th of each month for the month’s services. Payments are due by the 8th of the following month.

Example: Bills mailed January 15th are for January services and due February 8th.

When will the fee end?

The fee is due for each month the child receives services or until the end of the month in which the child reaches the age of 18.

Parents who fall behind on payments are encouraged to contact the Parent Fee Program at ParentFee@kdads.ks.gov or 785-296-3536 to arrange a payment plan.

A child cannot be removed from the HCBS Waiver if the parent fails to pay the fee, but KDADS is authorized to pursue collections of unpaid balances until paid, including pursuing payment through legal action.

Where can I get more information?

The Parent Fee Program Manual, Parent Fee Schedule and forms are available on the KDADS website on the Parent Fee webpage.

Your case manager can assist you with additional information regarding the Parent Fee Program, HCBS Waiver Services and program eligibility.

Questions relating to billing may be directed to:

ParentFee@kdads.ks.gov

785-296-3536

 

 

| KDADS Disclaimer | Kansas Open Records | KDADS Privacy Statement |
| Kansas.gov Home Page | Contact KDADS |
Page Last Updated: January 29, 2014