Frequently Asked Questions
Nursing Facilities and Client Assessment, Referral and Evaluation (CARE) Assessments
How is "Adult Care Home" defined in Kansas?
"Adult Care Home" in Kansas means any nursing facility, nursing facility for mental health, intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, assisted living facility, residential health care facility, homes plus, boarding care home, and adult day care facility. (KSA 39-923)
Who licenses Kansas nursing facilities?
All adult care homes are required to be licensed by the Secretary of the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS). KDADS's Survey and Certification Commission (SCC) is responsible for licensing, issuing operational rules and regulations, and certifying that providers meet regulatory requirements for Medicare / Medicaid participation.
What is the purpose of nursing facilities?
The purpose of nursing facilities is to provide health care and related services to individuals requiring 24 hours per day, seven days per week care. Residents receiving services in a nursing facility require ongoing observation, treatment and care for either short or long-term stays due to illness, disease or injury.
What services are provided in a nursing facility?
Nursing facilities in the Medicaid program are required to provide the following services:
- Licensed nursing supervision 24 hours per day, 7 days per week
- Specialized rehabilitation services
- Routine medical equipment and supplies
- Physical, speech, occupational, and respiratory therapies
- Pharmacy services
- Dietitian services
- Assistance with daily living skills
Some nursing facilities also elect to provide respite and adult day care.
How do individuals qualify for Medicaid to pay for nursing home care?
Medicaid financial eligibility is determined by the Kansas Department of Children and Families (DCF) field staff. The criteria for financial eligibility are listed on the DCF website at www.dcf.ks.gov .
Medicaid functional eligibility is determined by KDADS staff based on the CARE assessment.
Who reimburses Kansas nursing facilities for Medicaid residents?
The nursing facility payment program is a division in the KDADS Program and Policy Commission. The division is responsible for enrolling providers and determining reimbursement rates for nursing facilities participating in the Medicaid program. KDADS reimburses approximately 325 Nursing facilities using a cost-based, facility specific, prospective payment system. The payment allowance for direct healthcare costs is adjusted quarterly based on the acuity of the Medicaid residents.
KDADS is responsible for monetary penalties, denial of payment for new Medicare and/or Medicaid admissions, and terminations of nursing facilities not in substantial compliance with federal participation requirements. Remedies imposed are from recommendations of the SCC surveyors based on the results of the survey process. Penalties for skilled nursing facilities not in compliance with Medicare participation requirements are imposed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).
Why are persons entering a nursing facility in private pay status required to have a CARE assessment before they can be admitted?
The CARE assessment meets the federal Pre-Admission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) admission requirement for Medicaid-certified nursing facilities. It applies to all residents, regardless of payment source. The purpose of PASRR is to screen for mental illness, mental retardation/developmental disabilities, and related conditions to determine if nursing facility placement is appropriate.
For additional information on the Nursing Facility and CARE Programs, contact:
Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services
503 South Kansas Ave
Topeka, Kansas 66603-3404