Technology Assisted (TA) Program

Photo of nurse assisting a patient with a respirator

The TA Program serves individuals ages 0 through 21 years who are chronically ill or medically fragile and dependent upon a ventilator or medical device to compensate for the loss of vital bodily function and who require substantial and ongoing daily care by a nurse comparable to the level of care provided in a hospital setting, or other qualified caregiver under the supervision of a nurse, to avert death or further disability; or an individual who is hospitalized or at imminent risk of hospitalization, whose illness or disability, in the absence of home care services, would require admission to a hospital.

Technology Assisted Waiver Renewal Public Comment Period

On August 1, 2013, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) issued the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS) a five-year Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Technology Assisted Waiver under the authority of 1915 (c) of the Social Security Act. This waiver is now up for renewal on August 1, 2018.

The Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services is seeking public comments from March 1, 2018, through April 1, 2018 on proposed waiver renewal language.

Technology Assisted Waiver Renewal Public Comments

Who is Eligible?

The individual must be determined eligible for Medicaid.

In addition to the medical technology dependency criteria, the individual must meet the nursing acuity needs criteria that identifies the level of skilled and unskilled care that is necessary to support the individual with his/her care needs so that he/she may remain in his/her own home.

The nursing acuity takes a holistic look at the individual’s medical needs. The nursing acuity addresses 20 care elements of importance and assigns a point value representing the time it takes to deliver the nursing care tasks identified in each care element. These elements are identified as specific care needs relative to the medical diagnosis and/or medical technology for which the individual is dependent upon to compensate for loss of a vital body function

The individual is determined TA Program eligible if he/she meets all three of the following eligibility components:

  1. Meet the HCBS-Technology Assisted Program definition.
  2. Require one or more of the identified primary medical technology(ies) and meet the minimum technology score for the specified age group.
  3. Meet the minimum nursing acuity level of care threshold for the specified age group.

Frequently Asked Questions