
Meet Deputy Secretary 
Scott Brunner 
 
Secretary Laura Howard is pleased to announce the 
appointment of Scott Brunner as Co-Deputy 
Secretary of the Kansas Department of Aging and 
Disability Services (KDADS). His role is to serve as 
Deputy Secretary of Hospitals and Facilities. This new 
position provides executive oversight of the four state 
hospitals and KDADS staff conducting surveys and 
certification reviews for long-term care facilities and 
health occupations. Before starting at KDADS in 
January 2020, Scott was the Vice President for 
Stakeholder Relations for Aetna Better Health of 
Kansas, the new Medicaid health plan operating in the 
KanCare program. Before working for Aetna, Scott 

worked in a variety of roles in the Kansas Medicaid 
Program, including State Medicaid Director, Chief 
Financial Officer and 
Director of Informatics. 
After leaving state 
service, Scott was the 
Coverage and Access 
Team Leader for the 
Kansas Health Institute, 
a state-focused health 
policy think tank, 
during the 
implementation of the 
Affordable Care Act 
and Kansas’ movement 
to full Medicaid 
managed care. Scott lives in Topeka, Kansas. 
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Welcome, Goodbye and Congratulations
Congrats to Lacey Hunter 
 
Secretary Laura Howard is pleased to announce the 
appointment of Lacey Hunter as Interim Commissioner of 
KDADS’ Survey, Certification and Credentialing Commission 
(SCCC). Lacey has 13 years of customer service experience 
in addition to eight years of management and leadership 
experience. She began working for KDADS as the Licensure 
and Certification Enforcement Manager in 2017 during which 
time she also became the state’s PEAK liaison and Sunflower 
Connection coordinator. In that position, Lacey oversaw all 

initial licensure, change in ownership and amended licensure for all adult care homes in the state of Kansas. 
Also part of her purview was to issue and enforce all certified nursing facilities survey results and (I)IDR panel 
hearings. Lacey works closely with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the Office of the 
State Fire Marshal and elder care organizations to ensure compliance and customer service are maintained and 
improved where necessary. Lacey has been instrumental in helping bring the state performance standards back 
into compliance with the CMS by revising the certification scheduling, maintaining timely due dates and revising 
the enforcement process. She also helped change the statutes for adult care homes as revised and approved in the 
May 2019 House and Senate session. Prior to her work at KDADS, Lacey became a licensed operator in the State 
of Kansas and the Executive Director of Stoneybrook Assisted Living, a 68-bed, two-building facility, including 
a secure memory care unit, in 2014. She has served as a leader both inside and outside of her professional career 
through serving for and with various organizations. Lacey earned a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration 
from Kansas State University. 

Please help us congratulate Lacey and wish her well in her new role.

Goodbye Tina Lewis, Welcome Patty Purdon

In January we said goodbye to Tina Lewis, the long-time senior administrative assistant for SCCC. Tina was  an 
integral part of  the department for more than 40 years and was such a joy and asset. She will be greatly missed 
but we wish her the best and hope she enjoys retirement. Tina will continue to be a great friend to many KDADS 
staff.

We have welcomed Patty Purdon as a new assistant to SCCC. Patty will oversee many of the activities formerly 
performed by Tina. Patty has some very large shoes to fill but is doing a great job and is a welcomed addition 
to our team. Please see the activities below that  Tina was previously the primary contact for and who the new 
contact is. 

Initial and Change of Ownership Medicare Enrollment: LaNae Workman - 785-296-1261 or 
lanae.workman@ks.gov

Facility Statistical Reporting: Patty Purdon - 785-296-1260  or Patricia.purdon@ks.gov 

CMP Payments and Payment Plans: Patty Purdon - 785-296-1260 or Patricia.purdon@ks.gov 

CMP Grant Application Information: Please visit KDADS website at kdads.ks.gov and review Funding 
Opportunity Tab.

mailto:lanae.workman%40ks.gov?subject=
mailto:Patricia.purdon%40ks.gov?subject=
mailto:Patricia.purdon%40ks.gov?subject=
http://kdads.ks.gov
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KanCheck Update: Criminal Record Check
 By Brenda Dreher

As you may know, legislation passed and was effective July 1, 2018, making changes to the criminal record check 
laws for Adult Care Homes (K.S.A. 39-970), Home Health Agencies (K.S.A. 65-5117) and HCBS (K.S.A. 39-
2009). Many of the changes, including an updated list of prohibited offenses, were implemented beginning 
July 1, 2018.   

The changes also required a move 
away from Kansas-only name 
based criminal record checks 
to fingerprint-based national 
criminal record checks. A new 
system, called KanCheck, has been 
developed and tested. A group of 
volunteer facilities have received 
training and are participating in 
a Mini Pilot of KanCheck. The 
go live date for that Mini Pilot 
was January 13, 2020. The next 
phase is a larger pilot group that 
will encompass Shawnee County. 
An email blast will be utilized to 
provide specific information.  

The Criminal Record Check 
portion of the Health Occupations 
Credentialing (HOC) website has 
begun incorporating the KanCheck 
portal while maintaining the 
current portal for those facilities 
that are not yet being implemented. 
More detailed information will 
follow as will User Guides and an 
FAQ.  We encourage everyone to  
visit the HOC web page at 
www.kdads.ks.gov/hoc 
regularly for updates and a timeline 
regarding implementation. KDADS 
looks forward to working with 
providers to assure a smooth 
transition.  

If you have questions, please 
contact Rae’vyn Chisholm at 
Raevyn.chisholm@ks.gov.

mailto:Raevyn.chisholm%40ks.gov?subject=
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Ask John
  

A water management program must be an 
individualized part of the facility assessment. 
There is information related to Water Management 
Programs at the CDC web site: https://www.cdc.
gov/legionella/wmp/healthcare-facilities/federal-
requirement.html
Some highlights include:  
The key to preventing Legionnaires’ disease is to 
make sure that building owners and managers 
maintain building water systems in order to 
reduce the risk of Legionella growth and spread. Examples of building water systems that might grow and spread 
Legionella include (but not limited to):

•	 Hot tubs
•	 Hot water tanks and heaters
•	 Large plumbing systems
•	 Cooling towers (structures that contain water and a fan as part of centralized air cooling systems for 

building)
•	 Decorative fountains

Water management programs identify hazardous conditions and take steps to minimize the growth and 
transmission of Legionella and other waterborne pathogens in building water systems. Developing and 
maintaining a water management program is a multi-step process that requires continuous review.  Key elements 
of a Legionella water management program are to:

•	 Establish a water management program team
•	 Describe the building water systems using text and flow diagrams
•	 Identify areas where Legionella could grow and spread
•	 Decide where control measures should be applied and how to monitor them
•	 Establish ways to intervene when control limits are not met
•	 Make sure the program is running as designed and is effective
•	 Document and communicate all the activities

In June 2017, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) released a survey and certification memo 
stating that healthcare facilities should develop and adhere to ASHRAE-compliant water management programs 
to reduce the risk for Legionella and other pathogens in their water systems. The following resources may be 
useful when trying to understand what the requirement covers.

•	 Fact sheet about the growth and spread of Legionella
•	 Fact sheet about Legionella water management programs
•	 Healthcare water management program frequently asked questions
•	 CMS surveyor training

Please review the information provided by the CDC and include your facility’s required Water Management 
Program in the facility assessment.

https://www.cdc.gov/legionella/wmp/healthcare-facilities/federal-requirement.html
https://www.cdc.gov/legionella/wmp/healthcare-facilities/federal-requirement.html
https://www.cdc.gov/legionella/wmp/healthcare-facilities/federal-requirement.html


CMS Final Rule Settings: Update and Timeline
Background
On March 17, 2014, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) issued the Home and Community 
Based Services Settings Rule (called the Rule in this article). The regulation addresses the requirements for 
community integration, personal autonomy and choice in Home and Community-Based Services funded 
through Medicaid. States are required to analyze all HCBS settings where HCBS participants receive services to 
determine current compliance with the Rule. This includes residential and nonresidential settings. The federal 
regulation for the new rule is § 42 CFR 441.301(c)(4)-(5).

Criteria for Home and Community-Based Settings
The “Rule” creates a single definition of a home and community-based setting for 1915(c), 1915(i), and 1915(k) 
HCBS and requires that all HCBS settings meet certain requirements:

•	 The setting is integrated in, and supports full access to, the greater community, including opportunities to 
seek employment in competitive integrated settings and engage in the community

•	 The setting is selected by the individual from among setting options, including the option for a non-
disability-specific setting

•	 The setting ensures individual rights of privacy, dignity, and respect and freedom from coercion and 
restraint

•	 The setting optimizes individual initiative, autonomy, and independence in making life choices
•	 The setting facilitates individual choice regarding services and supports, including who provides those 

services and supports

Provider-Owned or Controlled Residential Settings
The “Rule” provides additional requirements for provider-owned or controlled residential settings that can only 
be modified using the process described below:

•	 The units or rooms must be a specific physical place, the kind that could be owned or rented in a typical 
landlord-tenant agreement

•	 The individuals have privacy in their living or sleeping units, meaning that:
•	 Units have lockable doors and entrances, with only appropriate staff having keys to doors 
•	 Individuals who share rooms have a choice of roommate in that setting
•	 Individuals can furnish and decorate their own units within the limits of the lease or agreement

•	 The individuals control their own schedules, including access to food at any time
•	 The individuals can have visitors at any time
•	 The setting is physically accessible to the individual

To modify the above requirements, the “Rule” requires a written justification that must be done on an individual 
basis and supported by a specific assessed need and justified in the person-centered plan. The plan must 
document:

•	 The specific and individualized assessed need
•	 The positive interventions and supports used prior to any modifications 
•	 Established time limits for review of the modification
•	 Informed consent of the individual
•	 Assurance that the interventions and supports will cause no harm to the individual
•	 The less intrusive methods that have been tried but did not work
•	 A description of the condition that is directly proportionate to the need
•	 Regular collection and review of data to measure the effectiveness of the modification 
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CMS Final Rule Settings: Update and Timeline (cont’d)
The “Rule” states that the following should never be considered home and community-based settings:

•	 Intermediate care facilities for people with intellectual disabilities
•	 Hospitals
•	 Nursing facilities
•	 Institutions for mental diseases

The “Rule” states that CMS will presume that a setting is not home and community-based if it is located in a 
building that also provides inpatient treatment or is located on the grounds of, or immediately adjacent to, 
a public institution or any other setting that has the effect of isolating individuals receiving Medicaid HCBS 
funding from the broader community. CMS will presume these settings to not be home and community-based 
unless the CMS determines through a process of “heightened scrutiny” that the setting does not have the 
qualities of an institution and in fact has the qualities of a home and community-based setting. The “heightened 
scrutiny” process will include public input and stakeholder engagement 

Person-Centered Plan
The Final Rule requires a Person-Centered Care Plan (PCCP) for every individual receiving Medicaid HCBS 
funding. The individual receiving services describes his or her needs in the planning process, in collaboration 
with friends, family and other supporters to ensure that individual receives the services they need in a manner 
they prefer. The “Rule” details requirements for the plan, including writing and revisions.

Highlights of the process include requirements that it must:
•	 Reflect the cultural considerations of the individual and is conducted in plain language accessible to people 

with disabilities and persons who have limited English proficiency
•	 Offer choices to the individual regarding services and supports
•	 Include people chosen by the individual
•	 Provide necessary information and support so the individual can direct the process to the maximum extent 

possible

Highlights of the plan include that it must:
•	 Prevent the provision of unnecessary or inappropriate services and supports
•	 Document the modifications made to the HCBS settings requirements outlined in the rules for provider-

owned or controlled settings.
•	 Include paid and unpaid supports (also called natural supports)
•	 Be understandable to the individual and written in plain language accessible 

to people with disabilities and persons who have limited English proficiency
•	 Reflect what is important to the individual with regard to the delivery of 

services and supports
•	 Reflect the individuals’ strengths and preferences, as well as clinical and 

support needs
 Compliance and Enforcement

The Kansas Final Rule Provider Self-Assessment Deadline was February 29, 
2020. 

If you missed the deadline visit https://communityconnectionsks.org/missed-the-self-assessment-deadline/. 
For  more details pertaining to the Kansas statewide transition plan (STP) timeline to achieve compliance with 
the HCBS final rule settings requirements and contact information for support services, please visit: https://
communityconnectionsks.org/.
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What Shoud be 
Reported to the Hotline
Pursuant to The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
(CMS), all nursing homes must ensure all alleged 
violations involving mistreatment, exploitation, 
neglect, or abuse, including injuries of unknown 
source and misappropriation of resident property 
are reported immediately. If the occurrence that 
cause the allegation involve abuse or result in serious 
bodily injury the facility must report the incident 
to the administrator of the facility and to other 
officials including the State Survey Agency (SA) no 
later than 2 hours after the allegation is made.  If the 
allegation does not involve abuse and does not result 
in serious bodily injury the facility must report those 
events no later than 24 hours after the allegation is 
made. Nursing homes must report to the SA and law 
enforcement any reasonable suspicion of a crime 
against any individual who is a resident of or receiving 
care from the facility within the required timeframe.  

Additionally, F609** directs facilities to report injuries 
of unknown source - an injury - should be classified 
as an “injury of unknown source” when both of the 
following criteria are met:

•	 The source of the injury was not observed by any 
person or the source of the injury could not be 
explained by the resident; AND

•	 The injury is suspicious because of the extent 
of the injury or the location of the injury (e.g., 
the injury is located in an area not generally 
vulnerable to trauma) or the number of injuries 
observed at one particular point in time or the 
incidence of injuries over time. (609) 

**Assisted livings, residential healthcare, and home 
plus facilities do not have this requirement.

“Alleged violation” is a situation or occurrence that 
is observed or reported by staff, resident, relative, 
visitor or others but has not yet been investigated and, 
if verified, could be noncompliance with the Federal 
requirements related to mistreatment, exploitation, 
neglect, or abuse, including injuries of unknown 
source, and misappropriation of resident property.
    
“Immediately” means as soon as possible, in the  

absence of a shorter State time frame requirement, but 
later than 2 hours after the allegation is made, if the 
events that cause the allegation involve abuse or result 
in serious bodily injury, or not later than 24 hours 
if the events that cause the allegation do not involve 
abuse and do not result in serious bodily injury.  

“Serious bodily injury” means an injury involving 
extreme physical pain; involving substantial risk of 
death; involving protracted loss or impairment of 
the function of a bodily member, organ, or mental 
faculty; requiring medical intervention such as 
surgery, hospitalization, or physical rehabilitation; or 
an injury resulting from criminal sexual abuse (See 
section 2011(19)(A) of the Act).  

An individual (e.g., a resident, visitor, facility staff) 
who reports an alleged violation to facility staff does 
not have to explicitly characterize the situation as 
“abuse,” “neglect,” “mistreatment,” or “exploitation” 
in order to trigger the Federal requirements at 
42 CFR 483.12(c). Rather, if facility staff could 
reasonably conclude that the potential exists for 
noncompliance with the Federal requirements 
related to mistreatment, exploitation, neglect, or 
abuse, including injuries of unknown source, and 
misappropriation of resident property, then it would 
be considered to be reportable and require action 
under 42 CFR 483.12(c). For example, if a resident 
is abused but does not allege abuse, the resident’s 
failure or inability to provide information about the 
occurrence is immaterial when the abuse may be 
substantiated by other supporting evidence. Another 
example is when a nurse aide witnesses an act of 
abuse but fails to report the alleged violation, the 
failure to report does not support a conclusion that 
the abuse did not occur, and the facility would not 
meet the reporting requirements.  
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What Shoud be Reported to the Hotline (cont’d) 
If an alleged violation has been identified and reported to the administrator/designee, the facility must 
immediately report it and provide protection for the identified resident(s) prior to conducting the investigation 
of the alleged violation. In some situations, the facility may initially evaluate an occurrence to determine 
whether it meets the definition of an “alleged violation.” For example, upon discovery of an injury, the facility 
must immediately take steps to evaluate whether the injury meets the definition of an “injury of unknown 
source.” Similarly, if a resident states that his or her belongings are missing, the facility may make an initial 
determination whether the item has been misplaced in the resident’s room, in the laundry, or elsewhere before 

reporting misappropriation of property. However, if the alleged violation 
meets the definition of abuse, neglect, exploitation or mistreatment, the 
facility should not make an initial determination whether the allegation is 
credible before reporting the allegation.   

In response to allegations of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or mistreatment 
the facility must have evidence that all alleged violations are thoroughly 
investigated and prevent further potential abuse, neglect, exploitation, or 
mistreatment while the investigation is in progress.  

Facilities have five working days to submit the investigation to the State Survey Agency (SA) and if the violation 
is verified appropriate corrective action must be taken.

There may be instances where a report is required under 42 CFR §483.12(c) [F609], but not under 42 CFR 
§483.12(b)(5)/Section 1150B of the Act[F608]. The following table describes the different requirements:

F608 F609

What to 
Report

Any reasonable suspicion of a 
crime against a resident

1.	 All alleged violations of abuse, neglect, 
exploitation or mistreatment, including injuries 
of unknown source and misappropriation of 
resident property

2.	 The results of all investigations of alleged 
violations

Who is 
Required to 
Report

Any covered individual, including 
the owner, operator, employee, 
manager, agent or contractor of 
the facility

The facility administrator and two other officials 
in accordance with State law, including the SA and 
adult protective services where State law provides for 
jurisdiction in long-term care facilities

To Whom SA and one or more law 
enforcement entities for the 
political subdivision in which 
the facility is located (i.e., police, 
sheriffs, detectives, public safety 
officers; corrections personnel; 
prosecutors; medical examiners; 
investigators; and coroner

All alleged violations - immediately but not later 
than:

1.	 2 hours - if the alleged violation involves abuse or 
results in serious bodily injury

2.	 24 hours-if the alleged violation does not involve 
abuse and does not result in serious bodily injury
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What Shoud be Reported to the Hotline (cont’d) 
Examples
The family reports to the director of nursing that a resident has a second degree 
burn due to a hot pack. A staff member confirmed that when the hot pack was 
removed, it was observed that the resident had a burn(s) on his/her back. This is 
an alleged violation and should be reported to the SA.     
A resident fell from the Hoyer lift during transfer and sustained a fractured 
right hip. The resident’s care plan included two staff members would transfer the 
resident via the Hoyer. At the time of the incident only one staff transferred the resident. This is an alleged 
violation and should be reported to the SA.   
A resident goes out to dinner with family.  The resident is properly supervised during the outing. While walking 
across the parking lot, the resident falls and sustains a right ankle fracture. This is not a reportable event.  

A resident with a BIMS of 2 is self-propelling their wheelchair and accidentally bumps into another resident.  
This is an accident and not an allegation of abuse. Therefore, this is not a reportable event.    

Direct care staff is assisting a male resident with toileting. The staff took a picture of the resident sitting on the 
toilet and posted it on social media and sent it to all co-workers that worked that shift. The resident’s face was 
clearly visible and recognizable. On the social media post, the staff wrote “this is what I am dealing with today.” 
This is an alleged violation and is a reportable event.  

Questions
Are all falls reportable? No, all falls are not reportable.  If there is an alleged violation of abuse and/or neglect 
and the facility determines that the fall was not due to abuse and/or neglect within the reporting timeframe, 
this would not be a reportable event. However, if the facility is not able to rule out neglect and/or abuse during 
the required reporting timeframe then the event would be reportable. The facility must do a thorough written 
investigation regardless of if the event was reportable or not.  

Are all injuries (fractures, etc.) reportable? No, all injuries are not reportable. See the above question.   
What is the facility’s responsibility when the hotline tells them to “keep report on file?” The facility must 
complete a thorough investigation and keep it within the facility. A surveyor may ask to review the investigation 
during a survey. 

When is the investigation due? The investigation is due within five working days from the date of the incident. 
 Resources
S&C-05-09:  Clarification of Nursing Home Reporting Requirements for Alleged Violations of Mistreatment, 
Neglect, and Abuse, Including injuries of Unknown Source and Misappropriate of Resident Property: 
www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/
Survey-and-Cert-Letter-16-33.pdf.

S&C-11-30-NH:  Reporting Reasonable Suspicion of a Crime in a Long-Term Care Facility (LTC):  Section 
1150B of the Social Security Act: www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/
SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/SCLetter11_30.pdf.

S&C-16-33-NH:  Protecting Resident Privacy and Prohibiting Mental Abuse Related to Photographs and 
Audio/Video Recordings by Nursing Home Staff: www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-
Certification/SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/Survey-and-Cert-Letter-16-33.pdf.

S&C-12-44-NH “Hand in Hand: A Training Series for Nursing Homes,” on Person-Centered Care of Persons 
with Dementia and Prevention of Abuse: www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/
SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/Survey-and-Cert-Letter-12-44.pdf.
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State Fire Marshal: Healthcare and Power Strips
Our office gets questions on a regular basis asking what the codes are for use of Power Strips in healthcare 
facilities. Usually we get these after a facility has been issued a violation notice for the improper use of power 
strips. It is important to understand that there is not a single type of power strip that is suitable for every 
application in your facility. Each type of power strip has a specific purpose and should not be used for a different 
purpose than what it is designed and approved for. Here is the list of the current power strips you can use and 
how you can use them.

Medical-Grade Power Strips (approved for use in patient care vicinity): Tested to comply with UL 60601-1. These 
can be used inside or outside the Patient Care Vicinity. They protect patients and staff in the event of a single 
fault. They typically power medical or computer equipment. These power strips cannot be used for non-medical 
equipment. The sum of the ampacity of all appliances connected to the receptacles shall not exceed 75% of the 
ampacity of the flexible cord supplying the receptacles.

Power Strips for Administrative Areas and Operating Rooms with Isolation (NOT approved for use in patient 
care vicinity): Tested to comply with UL 1363. They cannot be used in the Patient Care Vicinity. The sum of the 
ampacity of all appliances connected to the receptacles shall not exceed 75% of the ampacity of the flexible cord 
supplying the receptacles Medical-Grade Power Strips for Mobile Applications (Approved for use in the Patient 
Care Vicinity): Tested to comply with UL 1363A. They can be used inside or outside the Patient Care
Vicinity. They require permanent mounting (not removable without a tool) to mobile medical equipment 
platforms such as IV poles or crash carts. These power strips cannot be used for non-medical equipment. The 
sum of the ampacity of all appliances connected to the receptacles shall not exceed 75% of the ampacity of the 
flexible cord supplying the receptacles. Now, let’s cover the definition of “Patient Care Vicinity”. The patient 
care vicinity is defined as the Space within a location intended for the examination and treatment of patients, 

extending 1.8 m (6 ft.) 
beyond the normal 
location of the bed, chair, 
table, treadmill or other 
device that
supports the patient 
during examination and 
treatment and extending 
vertically to 2.3 m 
(7 ft. 6 in.) above the floor”.

We understand that most 
residents want that “at 
home” feeling while in a 
long-term care facility, 
but we also want to make 
sure that they are safe. 
Personal items within the 
patient care vicinity such 
as alarm clocks, TVs, 
mini-fridges, cell phone 

chargers, etc. are not to be plugged into a power strip. These items must be plugged in directly to the outlet. It 
is very important to understand the regulations in place for power strips in order to keep residents and patients 
safe from harm. If you have any questions, please reach out to our office at prevention@ks.gov.

mailto:prevention%40ks.gov?subject=
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PEAK 2.0 Open Enrollment for New Enrollees
Are you ready to start your person-centered care transformation? PEAK 2.0, a KDADS Medicaid pay-for-
performance program, is here to help you. Open enrollment for PEAK 2.0 is now open through April 15th. New 
homes or homes that have been discontinued from the program must enroll to participate. Current participants 
do not need to re-enroll in the program. Homes may not enter the program mid-year. To enroll go to: https://
www.hhs.k-state.edu/aging/outreach/peak20/enroll/. Questions? Email the Peak 2.0 Project Team at K-State or 
call (785) 532-2776.

Facility Reported Incident Investigations
All Nursing Facilities and Skilled Nursing Facilities are required to report all alleged violations involving 
abuse, neglect, exploitation and/or mistreatment. With the influx of Facility Reported Incidents for NF/SNFs 
throughout the state, KDADS SCC has implemented a new email address for these investigations. The new email 
is KDADS.FRI@ks.gov.  

The incidents will still need to be reported to the KDADS Complaint Hotline at 1-800-842-0078 or 
kdads.complainthotline@ks.gov. The Complaint Intake Specialist will provide the complaint number and tell 
you to keep the report on file or to send the report to the newly created KDADS.FRI@ks.gov email. If the 
investigation is to be submitted, please include the region the facility is in as well as the complaint number in the 
subject line of the email  (Ex: NE 1234).

Just a reminder that under F609 Reporting of Alleged Violations,  it states, “report the results of all investigations 
to the administrator or his/her designated representative and to other officials in accordance with State law, 
including to the State Survey Agency, within 5 working days of the incident, and if the alleged violation is 
verified appropriate corrective action must be taken”. For reports that determined to be “keep report,” the facility 
needs to thoroughly complete the investigation, as surveyors may look at it onsite. 

Change of Administrator or Operator Reminder
K.A.R. 26-39-101(h) requires that when a facility has a change of administrator, director of nursing, or operator 
each licensee of an adult care home shall notify the KDADS Survey, Certification and Credentialing Commission 
within two working days. When a new administrator or director of nursing is employed, the licensee shall notify 
the department of the name, address, and Kansas license number of the new administrator operator, or director 
of nursing at 785-296-1261 or lanae.workman@ks.gov.

When a new operator is employed, the licensee shall notify the department of the name and address of the new 
operator and provide evidence that the individual has completed the operator course as specified by the secretary 
of the Kansas Department of Aging and Disability Services pursuant to K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments thereto. 
A notice of change in administrator must be accompanied by check, money order or approved credit card 
payment authorization, payable to the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS) for $15 as 
required under KSA 39-930.

When beginning a new position with a different facility, the administrator or operator must request access to the 
new facilities Home Page by completing and submitting the KDADS WebApps Security Agreement found on the 
KDADS web page.

The Request Change of Administrator/Operator Form is found on the facilities Home Page. For a change of 
Administrator to a skilled nursing facility there is a $15.00 fee which must be paid by either mailing in a check or 
money order or by paying with an approved credit card.  There is no charge for a change of Operator for Assisted 
Living, Home Plus, Adult Day Care, Boarding Care Homes or Hospital LTCUs.

https://www.hhs.k-state.edu/aging/outreach/peak20/enroll/
https://www.hhs.k-state.edu/aging/outreach/peak20/enroll/
mailto:KDADS.FRI%40ks.gov?subject=
mailto:kdads.complainthotline%40ks.gov?subject=
mailto:KDADS.FRI%40ks.gov?subject=
mailto:lanae.workman%40ks.gov?subject=
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Admit, Transfer and Discharge
Transfer and discharge has been a hot topic lately. Just a reminder that the Federal Regulation 622 Transfer and 
Discharge the following is noted: 

§483.15(c)(1) Facility Requirements:
	 (i) The facility must permit each resident to remain in the facility, and not transfer or discharge the 	
		  resident from the facility unless: 
	 (A) The transfer or discharge is necessary for the resident’s welfare and the resident’s needs cannot be 	
		  met in the facility;
	 (B) The transfer or discharge is appropriate because the resident’s health has improved sufficiently so 	
		  the resident no longer needs the services provided by the facility;
	 (C) The safety of individuals in the facility is endangered due to the clinical or behavioral status of the 	
		  resident;
	 (D) The health of individuals in the facility would otherwise be endangered;
	 (E) The resident has failed, after reasonable and appropriate notice, to pay for (or to have paid under 	
		  Medicare or Medicaid) a stay at the facility. Nonpayment applies if the resident does not submit 	
		  the necessary paperwork for third party payment or after the third party, including Medicare or 	
		  Medicaid, denies the claim and the resident refuses to pay for his or her stay. For a resident who 	
		  becomes eligible for Medicaid after admission to a facility, the facility may charge a resident only 	
		  allowable charges under Medicaid; or
	 (F) The facility ceases to operate.
	 (ii) The facility may not transfer or discharge the resident while the appeal is pending, pursuant to § 	
		  431.230 of this chapter, when a resident exercises his or her right to appeal a transfer or discharge 	
		  notice from the facility pursuant to § 431.220(a)(3) of this chapter, unless the failure to discharge 	
		  or transfer would endanger the health or safety of the resident or other individuals in the facility. 	
		  The facility must document the danger that failure to transfer or discharge would pose.

When the facility transfers or discharges a resident under any of the above circumstances, the facility must 
ensure that the transfer or discharge is documented in the medical record and the appropriate information is 
given to the receiving health care institution or provider. That documentation must include: 

The basis for the transfer per paragraph (c)(1)(i) of this section.
	 (B) In the case of paragraph (c)(1)(i)(A) of this section, the specific resident need(s) that cannot be 	
		  met, facility attempts to meet the resident needs, and the service available at the receiving facility 	
		  to meet the need(s).
	 (ii) The documentation required by paragraph (c)(2)(i) of this section must be made by:
	 (A) The resident’s physician when transfer or discharge is necessary under paragraph (c) (1) (A) or (B) 	
		  of this section; and
	 (B) A physician when transfer or discharge is necessary under paragraph (c)(1)(i)(C) or (D) of 	
		  this section.
	 (iii) Information provided to the receiving provider must include a minimum of the following:
	 (A) Contact information of the practitioner responsible for the care of the resident,
	 (B) Resident representative information including contact information,
	 (C) Advance Directive information,
	 (D) All special instructions or precautions for ongoing care, as appropriate,
	 (E) Comprehensive care plan goals;
	 (F) All other necessary information, including a copy of the resident’s discharge summary, consistent 	
		  with §483.21(c)(2) as applicable, and any other documentation, as applicable, to ensure a safe and 	
		  effective transition of care.
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Admit, Transfer and Discharge (cont’d)
F 623 Notice Before Transfer requires that before a facility can transfer or discharge a resident the facility must: 

	 (i) Notify the resident and the resident’s representative(s) of the transfer or discharge and the reasons for 	
		  the move in writing and in a language and manner they understand. The facility must send a copy 	
		  of the notice to a representative of the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman.
	 (ii) Record the reasons for the transfer or discharge in the resident’s medical record in accordance with 	
		  paragraph (c)(2) of this section; and
	 (iii) Include in the notice the items described in paragraph (c)(5) of this section.

§483.15(c)(4) Timing of the notice.
	 (i) Except as specified in paragraphs (c)(4)(ii) and (c)(8) of this section, the notice of transfer or 		
		  discharge required under this section must be made by the facility at least 30 days before the 	
		  resident is transferred or discharged.
	 (ii) Notice must be made as soon as practicable before transfer or discharge when—
	 (A) The safety of individuals in the facility would be endangered under paragraph (c)(1)(i)(C) of this 	
		  section;
	 (B) The health of individuals in the facility would be endangered, under paragraph (c)(1)(i)(D) of 	
		  this section;
	 (C) The resident’s health improves sufficiently to allow a more immediate transfer or discharge, under 	
		  paragraph (c)(1)(i)(B) of this section;
	 (D) An immediate transfer or discharge is required by the resident’s urgent medical needs, under 	
		  paragraph (c)(1)(i)(A) of this section; or
	 (E) A resident has not resided in the facility for 30 days.

§483.15(c)(5) Contents of the notice. The written notice specified in paragraph (c)(3) of this section must include 
the following:
	 (i) The reason for transfer or discharge;
	 (ii) The effective date of transfer or discharge;
	 (iii) The location to which the resident is transferred or discharged;
	 (iv) A statement of the resident’s appeal rights, including the name, address (mailing and email), and 
		  telephone number of the entity which receives such requests; and information on how to obtain 	
		  an appeal form and assistance in completing the form and submitting the appeal hearing request;
	 (v) The name, address (mailing and email) and telephone number of the Office of the State Long-Term 	
		  Care Ombudsman;
	 (vi) For nursing facility residents with intellectual and developmental disabilities or related disabilities, 	
		  the mailing and email address and telephone number of the agency responsible for the protection 	
		  and advocacy of individuals with developmental disabilities established under Part C of the 	
		  Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act of 2000 (Pub. L. 106-402, codified at 	
		  42 U.S.C. 15001 et seq.); and
	 (vii) For nursing facility residents with a mental disorder or related disabilities, the mailing and email 	
		  address and telephone number of the agency responsible for the protection and advocacy of 	
		  individuals with a mental disorder established under the Protection and Advocacy for Mentally Ill 	
		  Individuals Act.
§483.15(c)(6) Changes to the notice.
If the information in the notice changes prior to effecting the transfer or discharge, the facility must update the 
recipients of the notice as soon as practicable once the updated information becomes available.

If you have any questions about transfer or discharge, please reach out to your Regional Manager or 
Ombudsman. 



2019 Zero Deficiency Surveys			 
These facilities received “zero” deficiencies from July 2019 to Present 
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SNF/NF: Skilled Nursing Facility   ALF: Assisted Living Facility   RHCF: Residential Health Care Facility 
HP: Home Plus   ADC: Adult Day Care  BCH: Boarding Care Home

FACILITY 					     CITY			   FACILITY TYPE	 SURVEY DATE
Via Chrsiti Village - Hays, Inc.		  Hays			   ALF			   10/30/19
Brookdale Hays				    Hays			   ALF			   11/166/19
Avita Senior Living at Derby			   Derby			   ALF			   11/17/19
Hill Top House				    Bucklin		  SNF/NF		  11/7/19
Country Place Senior Living of Belleville	 Belleville		  ALF			   11/14/19
The Homestead of Garden City		  Garden City		  ALF			   11/19/19
Platinum Care Homes				   Wichita		  HP			   11/20/19
Graystone Residential Care			   Iola			   RHCF			   11/27/19
Advanced Health Care of Overland Park	 Overland Park		 SNF/NF		  12/3/19
Catholic Charities Adult Day Services	 Wichita		  ADC			   12/4/19
Homestead of Russell				    Russell			  ALF			   12/4/19
Kansas Veterans Home			   Winfield		  ALF			   12/4/19
MTM Boarding Care Home			   McPherson		  BCH			   12/4/19
Vintage Park at Osawatomie LLC		  Osawatomie		  ALF			   12/10/19
Homestead of Leavenworth			   Leavenworth		  ALF			   12/19/19
Ultra Care Home Plus LLC 2			   Wichita		  HP			   12/12/19
Marjorie’s Home of West Wichita		  Wichita		  HP			   12/10/19
Homestead of Augusta			   Augusta		  ALF			   12/31/19
Autumn Home Plus Inc			   Topeka			  HP			   12/31/19
Harmony Adult Home Plus			   McPherson		  HP			   1/6/20
Rosewood Cottage LLC			   Wichita		  HP			   1/6/20
The Lighthouse				    Marysville		  HP			   1/19/20
Country Place Senior Living of Seneca	 Seneca			  ALF			   1/13/20
Leonardville Nursing Home			   Leonardville		  NF			   12/31/19
Arma Operator LLC				    Arma			   NF			   1/2/20
Riverview Estates				    Marquette		  NF			   1/22/20
The Wheatlands Health Care Center		  Kingman		  RHC			   1/15/20
Bethel House					     Wichita		  HP			   1/16/20
Anderson County LTCU			   Garnett		  NF			   1/29/20
Crestview Nursing & Residential Living	 Seneca			  SNF/NF		  1/22/20
Meade District Hospital LTCU		  Meade			  NF			   1/9/20
Sandstone Heights				    Little River		  SNF/NF		  1/13/20	


