Kansas State Opioid Response (SOR) Grant

Consumer Eligibility Criteria

To access services reimbursed by the opioid SOR grant:

- 1. The client must require treatment for Opioid Use Disorder (OUD);
- 2. The client must be a Kansas resident;
- 3. The income for the client's family size must be at or below 200% of the federal poverty guideline; and,
- 4. The client must have no other source of health care coverage or must meet the criteria specified for eligibility with Other Health Coverage (OHC).

A) Other Health Coverage

Clients who have OHC, including Medicaid, can be eligible for SOR benefits if the OHC does not cover the treatment/recovery services being provided to the client. If the client has OHC, document in the file how it has been ascertained that the OHC does not cover treatment/recovery services.

B) Income Eligibility Determination

- There must be compliance with the Federal Poverty Guidelines (see the most recent Federal Poverty Guidelines on page 4). The client's financial documentation is required as part of the application process and may include
 - a) Pay stubs
 - b) Income tax returns
 - c) Letter of unemployment benefits
 - d) Annual benefits letter
 - e) Bank statements
 - f) Signed statement of a family member upon who the client is dependent for food and/or shelter
 - g) Signed letter on agency letterhead from a criminal justice staff person or probation officer
 - h) Signed letter on agency letterhead from a social service staff person or similar professional (homeless shelter staff, therapist, DCF case worker, social worker, etc.)

Note: income is described as earnings, unemployment compensation, workers' compensation, Social Security income, supplemental security income, public assistance, veterans' payments, survivor benefits, pension or retirement income,

interest/dividends, rents, royalties, income from estates, trusts, educational assistance, alimony, child support, assistance from outside the household, and other miscellaneous

sources. Noncash benefits such as food stamps and housing subsidies do not count as income.

- 2) Income must be determined by the following guidelines at the time of assessment/admission for treatment:
 - a) Income will be calculated based on earnings over the 90-day period immediately preceding the date services are requested.
 - b) A singe person, age 18 and older, will be considered a household of one (1), regardless of living arrangements and only his or her income will be considered.
 - c) The income of a person who considers himself or herself to be married (legally, common-law, or represents themselves as married) will be based on the combined income of the client and spouse. The household size will then be two
 (2) plus any children living in the home.
 - d) The income of a client who is a single parent will be based on the client's income. The household size will then be one (1) plus any dependent children living in the home.
 - e) A person under 18 years of age, living with both legal parents, will have his or her income determined based on the parents' income according to c) above.
 - f) A person under 18 years of age, living with a single parent, will have his or her income based on the single parent's income according to d) above.
 - g) Clients in Juvenile Justice State custody, and living at home, their income will be determined as in e) or f) above, accordingly.

Note: a dependent child is defined as being 17 years of age and younger, unmarried, receiving more than half their support from a parent, with whom they reside, and they must have resided with that parent for more than six months of the year in order to meet the residency requirements. Step-parents will not be counted unless the child has been legally adopted by that parent.

C) Residency Eligibility Determination

An individual must be a current resident of the State of Kansas to be eligible for SOR funds. Residency shall be affirmed at the time of assessment/admission for treatment and shall be documented accordingly.

- a) As evidence of US residency, each client must provide one of the following documents:
 - 1. Social Security card
 - 2. Current Kansas Driver's License
 - 3. Certificate of U.S. Citizenship
 - 4. Birth Certificate
 - 5. Certificate of Naturalization

- 6. INS Employment Authorization or any document under A of the Federal 1-9 form
- b) And, as evidence of Kansas residency each client must provide one of the following:
 - 1. A current Kansas Driver's License
 - 2. A Kansas Native American Tribal document
 - 3. A Kansas Medical Card
 - 4. A Kansas Identification Card
 - 5. An apartment or house receipt in the client's name and with a Kansas address
 - 6. A utility bill in the client's name at the current living address in Kansas
 - 7. A signed statement of a family member upon whom the client is dependent for shelter
 - 8. A signed letter on agency letterhead from a criminal justice staff person or probation officer
 - 9. A signed letter on agency letterhead from a social services staff person or similar professional (homeless shelter, therapist, DCF case worker, social worker, etc.) affirming the client is a resident of Kansas
 - 10. Individuals incarcerated in Kansas must provide documentation of scheduled release within the next 60 days

Note: treatment facilities cannot be counted as a client's address and will not be considered a client's home address.

Providers must document eligibility and maintain the documentation in the patient file.

2020 Federal Poverty Guidelines Chart (Effective Jan. 15, 2020)

We have included multiple percentages in the Federal Poverty Level chart below, as there are several programs, including Medicaid, that use a percentage of the FPL as the income criteria for program participation.

48 Contiguous States

of Persons in Household2020 Federal Poverty Level for the 48 Contiguous States (Annual Income)

	100%	133%	138%	150%	200%	300%	400%
1	\$12,760	\$16,971	\$17,609	\$19,140	\$25,520	\$38,280	\$51,040
2	\$17,240	\$22,929	\$23,791	\$25,860	\$34,480	\$51,720	\$68,960
3	\$21,720	\$28,888	\$29,974	\$32,580	\$43,440	\$65,160	\$86,880
4	\$26,200	\$34,846	\$36,156	\$39,300	\$52,400	\$78,600	\$104,800
5	\$30,680	\$40,804	\$42,338	\$46,020	\$61,360	\$92,040	\$122,720
6	\$35,160	\$46,763	\$48,521	\$52,740	\$70,320	\$105,480	\$140,640
7	\$39,640	\$52,721	\$54,703	\$59,460	\$79,280	\$118,920	\$158,560
8	\$44,120	\$58,680	\$60,886	\$66,180	\$88,240	\$132,360	\$176,480

Add \$4,480 for each person in household over 8 persons